Ball jointed doll 2, wip

bjd polymer clay

WIP

Almost done sculpting her!!! As usual, I saved the hands and feet for last. They stress me out soooo much!!

I am still struggling with getting the faces to look the way I am envisioning them although I am confident that when she is given hair and eyelashes she will be much prettier….at least I hope so. I decided this time to attempt to give her real eyelashes rather than painting them on. I feel like this may be a struggle but I think it will really bring out her eyes, (which I think came out much better than my last doll. ) If anyone has any tips for making mohair lashes please feel free to give me some advice.

polymer

Bjd 2, wip

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Ball jointed doll 2, wip

  1. Fiona

    Hi I’m a beginner wanting to sculpt these type of dolls and I have no clue how to put the whole doll together and I have little knowledge of the actual whole process? Would you beable to give me some pointers?
    Kind regards
    Fiona

  2. Hey Fiona,
    I apologize!!!!….. I just read your comment. I don’t really know how to explain very well since it is a very in depth process. What I would suggest doing first is some research and learn as much as you can about ball jointed doll and how their joints work. Their is a great book by Ryo Yoshida (called Yoshida Style: BJD making guide)where he goes step by step on making these dolls with air dry clays. If you can get your hands on it that may help a bit although it is written in japanese. However the pictures are pretty detailed. Also decide which types of clay you want to work with. Do you want to use air dry clays, polymer, resin or porcelain?

    Here is a link where I kind of explain my process although it is just a brief explanation. https://themajesticthorn.wordpress.com/2011/05/12/brief-process-of-bjd/ I have been meaning to do a tutorial but just haven’t had the time.
    If you have any other questions about certain parts of the doll feel free to ask. I will do my best to help.

    Again, sorry for the late reply. Best of luck on your doll making,
    Kelly

Leave a Reply

