Shunya yamashita cosplay completed!

I have completed my costume, and had a blast wearing it at the convention, although for some reason I seemed to have pushed a few buttons. This costume, which is rather skimpy (I do admit) , seemed to have given people a reason  to point fingers and attack me. I don’t quite understand since it is a convention and their are always costumes that tend to be on the skimpier side. To my disadvantage I was basically called a whore by several girls who found it amusing to post pictures of my ass all over face book and tell me that I am degrading women. I am appalled that people stoop to these levels to hurt another’s feelings especially when the things they said about me are far from true.  I worked very hard on this costume, and chose it because of my interest in the beautiful design work and intricate detail, as well as my love for the artist NOT because it was skimpy.  I went to this convention to have fun not to be torn apart by people who can’t handle a woman who shows a bit of skin. I have high respect for women and their bodies and I do not see it as a shameful thing (as seen in my artworks). I just wish more people could see the beauty in it rather than always having to assume things about a person…..but I guess that is just the way people are…….sadly. 😦

But putting that aside, here is my costume.

Yamashita cosplay

Somehow I managed to finish it  within my 2 week time limit thanks to an abundance of coffee and lack of sleep.  I will admit I was a bit unsure on how it would turn out since I made 80% of it from eva foam and layers of polyurethane (for added strength), however I think my attempt to give it the appearance of leather was somewhat successful. As for painting it, I used black acrylic  mixed with a special blend of powdered purple eyeshadow which is what I believe helped to give it the final result I was going for. I was very happy to see in the end my costume held up and even with people running into my wings, they still survived.

Overall, this costume was so much fun to wear  and this a-kon was by far the most interesting and fun that I have attended.  (minus the aftermath of insults). I look forward to wearing it again next convention. I just hope the crowd can be more mature than some of the female participants  that were at a-kon this year!!!

a-kon 22

A-kon 22 cosplay

shunya yamashita cosplay

shunya yamashita cosplay

shunya yamashita cosplay

a-kon 22

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Shunya yamashita cosplay completed!

  1. I had to drop by after you left me that nice note and glad I did. It looks like I will have to update one of my blogs with your great cosplay.

    I was wondering if you would be up to doing a Cosplay Interview for my site?

Leave a Reply

